Embarrassment


Embarrassment.

An Opportunistic Infection by Mwaganu wa Kaggia

I am embarrassed to talk about SEX
So I avoid talking to my children
I giggle and laugh nervously
Whenever the word SEX is mentioned
I am too embarrassed to look up

In the age of HIV/AIDS
My embarrassment continues
About SEX, AIDS and CONDOMS
I am even afraid to read about the disease
I am so embarrassed

Now, I am at a loss
My daughter, my son,
my husband and I have AIDS
We have never talked about SEX and AIDS
Even when we knew better
We were too embarrassed
Too embarrassed to protect ourselves
Too embarrassed to keep DEATH at bay

Now I am too embarrassed
To let anyone know about us
My FAMILY and AIDS
Then one day
My mother opened my eyes
She said, ” Your family is not dying of AIDS
It is dying of embarrassment,
A deadly OPPORTUNISTIC INFECTION”

Today, we are no longer sick with embarrassment
We know better
That noone ever died of embarrassment
But DAILY, a loved one dies of AIDS.

By Mwaganu wa Kaggia-8-26-94

Source: http://www.whatifitwereyou.org/resources.html

Leave a Reply

