Everyone who has sex is at risk for HIV/AIDS


BY LINDSAY STEELE

My commute to work is 45 minutes to an hour in the mornings and evenings – I’m pretty confident I’ve found the quickest and most direct route. During this time, I am conflicted between talk radio and music radio…

When I opt for music, I then need to narrow it down from my six “go-to’s” to one. Then the song that won me over will inevitably end and I’m back in the same predicament.

Let’s say I opt for talk radio. This one’s easier since I only have one “go to”, NPR. I like NPR because topics vary each day and I never know what new information I’ll be enlightened with before I even have my morning coffee – which can be fun and exciting or disappointing.

The other evening driving home from work, I happened to stumble upon NPR’s monthly Health Dialogue segment on “HIV/AIDS in California”. This obviously won over FM radio…

After listening to about 30 minutes of the program – filled with interesting statistics and opinions – one quote stood out to me: Vallerie Wagner, M.S., education director for AIDS Project in Los Angeles made a comment that everyone who has sex is at risk for HIV.

Although quite obvious, it is something I think we all forget. We hear statistics about men who have sex with men (MSM), African Americans, women and youth … and when we don’t fall within one of these “high-risk” groups, we write HIV off as a potential threat.

As so confidently stated on the program, AIDS IS a threat to everyone who has sex.

So I ask, on behalf of Until There’s A Cure and everyone else fighting to end HIV/AIDS, that you get tested, know your status and help us raise awareness of this often forgotten truth.

Here are some resources to help you achieve just that:

Click here to find a testing site near you.

Click here to join our Already Tested website to promote awareness. Simply click on “Like” once on the Already Tested page, then share with friends and family.

One response to “Everyone who has sex is at risk for HIV/AIDS

  1. I’m all for testing, so much so that I believe firmly we need to be making tests more available. Currently in some suburbs, people are being turned away from testing at public health centers because they don’t fit the “high-risk” definition required by state health departments. You can see more at http://www.mosaicinitiative.org. The concerns of self-administered, home-based testing are not really valid, given research (http://www.mosaicinitiative.org/index.php?q=411.home.testing). What we need to do is put pressure on the FDA to expedite approval of this option, or, in partnership with NIH, get some pilot programs underway.

Leave a Reply

